IPL April Edition Report

IPL April Edition Report 0001

The India Poker Legend (IPL), April Edition took place from the 4th-8th April 2012 at Casino Royale, in Panjim, Goa. The IPL weekend included a high stakes INR 100,000 Freezeout Main Event, as well as a INR 15,000 Freezout and an INR 5,000 Double Re-buy plus Add-on.

Following action was witnessed at the India Poker Legend poker tournament:

The first event of the India Poker Legend weekend was the INR 3,000 Mega Satellite, which saw a lot of first time poker players taking advantage of the opportunity at trying their hand at poker in a casino. The event guaranteed 3 weekend packages, which included entry into Day 2 (INR 5,000), Day 3 (INR 15,000) and the super satellite of Day 4 (INR 10,000). This event saw many first timers in Goa with 3 full packages and 2 half packages awarded to the top 5 finishers.

Day 2 saw 56 players participating in the INR 5,000 Double Re-Buy and Add-on including tournament regulars such as Dhaval Mudgal, Laveena Belani, Anil Gulati, Pranav Bagai, in addition to the many first timers from all over India. The tournament structure allowed for double re-buys, ensuring fast & furious poker action including 65 re-buys and a total of 39 add-ons resulting in a massive prizepool of over INR 700,000. The first 6 places were paid and the final 10 were decided after 6 hours and another 2 hours 30 minutes of final tableplay saw the another female winner at the IPL, Laveena Belani, who received INR 260,000 for besting the competition. Shabby BS (2nd) and Sumit Khurana (3rd) rounded up the top 3 finishers.

Day 3 of the tournament weekend saw 51 players attend the INR 15,000 Freezeout. The event saw many regular tournament pros such as Abhishek Goindi, Apoorva Goel, Fredrik Hallan, Rakesh Sharma and Dhaval Mudgal, amongst others. The tournament lasted a total of 9 hours 20 minutes with Rakesh Sharma winning the event and taking home INR 260,000, after battling the final table for over 4 hours, with Apoorva Goel finishing 2nd and Poros Agarwal coming 3rd.

The big feature of the IPL weekend was the INR 100,000 Freezeout Main Event. It was one of the hardest tourney fields in India and the field included regulars such as Jasveen Saigal, Sangeeth ‘Samoh’ Mohan, Aditya Agarwal, Uday Patil and Ramandeep Gujral. The event had 31 registrations and the winner of the tournament was set to take home a huge INR 1,250,000 payday. The final table saw an intense heads-up battle between Abhishek Goindi and Fredrik Hallan, after seeing off challenges from Jasveen Saigal in 3rd andPranav Bagai in 4th (Bagai entered the final table with a massive chip lead, but could not hold onto his chips long enough). After 9 hours and 15 minutes, the ever consistent Abhishek Goindi emerged as the India Poker Legend Main Event winner pocketing the massive first place prize.

The next IPL event is set to take place from 18 -22 July, 2012 in Goa. For further information visit their website, and for enquires call +91 9818206165 or email [email protected]

Get all the latest PokerNews India updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook today!

More Stories

Other Stories