Race for the India Player of the Year begins

Race for the India Player of the Year begins 0001

The 2013 season of the Indian poker circuit was off to a flyer with the January edition of the India Poker Championship (IPC) which took place from 23-27 Jan onboard Goa's Casino Royale. While the side events drew 100+ players, all eyes were on the INR 30,000 Main Event which was to crown the new India Poker Champion of 2013. After 2 days and 70 opponents, Sri Lanka's Anuruddha Meddegoda emerged as the champion winning a lion's share of the prizepool and a beautiful crystal trophy for his efforts.

This season opener also signalled the start of the India Player of the Year (IPOY) leaderboard. The IPOY essentially awards points for the top performances in the IPC and at the end of the year, the most consistent player is declared winner of the IPOY. Along with all the prizes he or she may win thought out the IPC events they play in, the IPOY winner will also receive an additional prize in the form of a sponsorship from the IPC. This sponsorship will award free tournament entries to the winner over the course of the 2014 season.

With his win at the IPC Main Event, Anuruddha Meddegoda is sitting at the top of the heap and he will look to consolidate his presence at the top by returning to play in future IPC events. Mumbai emerges as the city with about a third of the names on the IPOY list coming from the financial capital of the country.

1Anuruddha MeddegodaColombo756
2Sikandar BerryMumbai630
3Mohammed AadilHyderabad576
4Aditya AgarwalKolkata504
5Rohit M 480
6Rajat Jain 384
7Amit R JainMumbai378
8Rohit Madhur 336
8Jasven SaigalMumbai372
9Kavish KukrejaMumbai315
10Shravan ChhabriaMumbai288
11Sridhar Kumar 288
12Rajnish Kumar 280
14Paras KumarRajkot240
15Abhishek Rathod 240
16Minissha LambaMumbai224
17Husain LakdaGoa220.5
18Gaurav GalaMumbai192
19Kunal ShewaramaniMumbai192
20Abercio DmelloDubai189
21Rakesh SharmaGoa168
22Bhavesh P 168
23Manoj Singh 157.5
24Sandeep Khurana 144
25Rajesh SitlaniMumbai144
26Surudh Kasireddy 140
27Anton KalashnikovMoscow126
28Rahul MelwaniBangalore120
30Rishi BMumbai112
31Damian CharufSpain98
32Bharghavi ChariChennai96
33Junaid Bilal 96
34Sunil SinghMumbai84
35Sirgey GubyenkoMoscow70
36Mriga Solanki 56

This however is just the start of the season and this leaderboard could look very different by the time December rolls around. Meddegoda also takes the lead in the IPC Poker GrandSlam initiative which awards a jackpot bonanza to any player who wins 4 Main Events within the 2013 season. That should give cause for more excitement as we approach every new IPC edition this year!

In case you missed out on all the action that went down at the Main Event as well as the side events from the IPC weekend, head on over to PokerNews India's live reporting blog where you can relive all the exciting moments from the IPC. And remember to visit us again from 07-10 March, where our reporting will bring you updates from the next IPC.

Get all the latest PokerNews updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and find us both Facebook and Google+!

Image credit: mezzotint123rf / 123RF Stock Photo

More Stories

Other Stories