New poker experience at 888poker

Join now to get $88 FREE (no deposit needed)

Join now
Double your first deposit up to $400

New players can use bonus code 'STARS400'

Join now
partypoker Cashback

Get up to 40% back every week!

Join now
€200 progressive bonus

+ a FREE Unibet Open Qualifier ticket

Join now

Amit Jain takes lead in India Player of the Year standings

  • Nikhil Shetty
Amit Jain takes lead in India Player of the Year standings 0001

The second edition of the India Poker Championship (IPC) took place from 07-10 March and saw Mumbai's Amit Jain emerge as the winner of the 25k Big Game (Main Event). With that win, Jain went one better than the January edition of the IPC where he finished in 4th place, with eventual winner Anuruddha Meddegoda going on to become India Poker Champion 2013.

Mumbai is dominating the India Player of the Year (IPOY) leaderboard but players from New Delhi, Gujarat, Goa and Hyderabad are also making their presence felt on the leaderboard. The IPOY essentially awards points for the top performances in the IPC and at the end of the year, the most consistent player is declared winner of the IPOY. Along with all the prizes he or she may win thought out the IPC events they play in, the IPOY winner will also receive an additional prize in the form of a sponsorship from the IPC. This sponsorship will award free tournament entries to the winner over the course of the 2014 season.

Jain has had a pretty good start to the 2013 season and with 2 money finishes in the March edition, he has taken a solid lead over good friend and city mate, Jasven Saigal who also scored a title at the March IPC.

1Amit R JainMumbai1056
2Jasven SaigalMumbai852
3Anuruddha MeddegodaColombo756
4Kanishka KapoorNew Delhi730
5Paras KumarRajkot692
6Sikandar BerryMumbai630
7Mohammed AadilHyderabad576
8Shravan ChhabriaMumbai533
9Husain LakdaGoa514.5
10Aditya AgarwalKolkata504
11Rohit MAhmedabad480
12Abhishek RathodAhmedabad479
13Kavish KukrejaMumbai459
14Ali Nawaz MerchantMumbai400
15Uday PatilNavi Mumbai392
16Rajat JainNew Delhi384
17Rohit MadhurNew Delhi336
18Sridhar KumarHyderabad288
19Rajnish KumarGoa280
20Rajesh VallabhaneniHyderabad264
21Rakesh SharmaGoa240
21Minissha LambaMumbai224
23Deepak BhambhaniMumbai220
24Ankur Agarwal 216
25Rajeev KanjaniMumbai200
26Manjeet AsraniMumbai196
27Gaurav GalaMumbai192
28Sunil SinghMumbai192
29Kunal ShewaramaniMumbai192
29Abercio DmelloDubai189
31Zarvan TamboliMumbai180
32Bhavesh PSurat168
33Samir GilaniMumbai160
34Manoj SinghGoa157.5
35Sandeep Khurana 144
36Rajesh SitlaniMumbai144
37Surudh Kasireddy 140
38Sameer RattonseyMumbai140
38Amton KalashnikovMoscow126
40Rahul MelwaniBangalore120
41Anil GulatiGoa120
42Rishi BMumbai112
43Girish ShahaneMumbai110
44Ramandeep GujralGoa100
45Damian CharufSpain98
46Bharghavi ChariChennai96
47Junaid BilalSurat96
48Rajeev RautPune88
49Jayesh Dhaswani 77
50Sirgey GubyenkoMoscow70
51Gaurav Shresth 66
52Mriga Solanki 56
53Siddharth Manohar 55
54Abhishek LaddaMumbai54
55Pranav Deshmukh 44

In case you missed out on all the action that went down at the Main Event as well as the side events from the IPC weekend, head on over to PokerNews India's live reporting blog where you can relive all the exciting moments from the IPC. And remember to visit us again from 07-10 March, where our reporting will bring you updates from the next IPC.

Get all the latest PokerNews updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and find us both Facebook and Google+!