Indian WSOP Performance Recap

Indians at WSOP
  • This article looks back at the performance of Indian players in WSOP over the years.

The global poker fraternity has come alive for the World Series of Poker (WSOP) at the Rio All-suite Hotel & Casino in the mecca of poker, Las Vegas. The series commences on May 29th and concludes on July 15th with a record 78 WSOP bracelets up for grabs. The main event last year saw 7000+ entries with a prize pool of USD 68+ million.

This year, the Indian contingent is the largest ever as per the WSOP website. Many players have already made their way to Las Vegas while others are following suit.
Last year, Indians were at the top of their game, with the highest number of wins and the deepest runs into the WSOP Main Event. Let’s have a look at the performance over the past few years:

1. Nipun Java
WSOP 2017: $1,000 NLHE Online championship – 1st place for $237,688
Nipun Java is 2nd in the Hendon Mob India All-time Money list. He is the only Indian with a two-time bracelet. In 2017, he won the $1,000 NLHE online championship to rake in a whopping USD 237,688 and his second bracelet. He also has the highest number of cashes totaling USD 1,096,483.

2. Aditya Agarwal
WSOP 2015: $10,000 NLHE Main Event Championship - 71st place for $96,445
Aditya is a PokerStars Team Pro and the first Indian to participate in the WSOP 13 years back. He is easily the most recognizable Indian player on the poker International circuit. He has 36 cashes and total WSOP earnings standing at $484,098.
His biggest win was in WSOP 2015 in the $10,000 NLHE Main Event where he got the 71st place out of 6,420 entries to earn USD 96,445. He became the first player from India to finish in top 100 at the WSOP Main Event.

3. Aditya Sushant and Nipun Java
WSOP 2017: $1,000 NLHE-Tag Team Event – 1st place for $75,319
Aditya ranks third on top Indian cashes in WSOP. He won the USD 1,000 together with Nipun Java to create history last year. It was India’s first-ever gold bracelet and he picked up USD 75,319 in prize money. In 2016, Sushant finished 216th and collected USD 42,285 in the USD 10,000 Main Event.

4. Paawan Bansal
WSOP 2017: $10,000 NLHE Main Event Championship - 124th place for $53,247
Paawan Bansal attended the WSOP for the first time last year. He finished 124th in the USD 10,000 Main Event. We expect to see Bansal participating in several events in the 49th edition of the WSOP.

5. Rahul Byrraju
WSOP 2017: $10,000 NLHE Main Event Championship - 102nd place for $53,247.
Rahul debuted in 2013 at the WSOP and came 20th in the USD 2,500 NLHE event and bagged USD 21,326. The Hyderabad pro’s biggest win was last year in the USD 10,000 NLHE Main Event where he finished 102nd and won USD 53, 247.

6. Aditya Sushant
WSOP 2017: $1,500 NLHE - 8th place for $44,255
Last year, Aditya had a successful run and reached his second final table in the USD 1,500 NLHE event, He finished 8th bagging USD 44,255. His total WSOP earnings are USD 194,550 till date.

7. Raghav Bansal
WSOP 2015: $2500 NLHE - 9th place for $39,508
In 2015, Raghav was the only Indian to reach the final table in the USD 2,500 NLHE event where he cashed USD 39,508 after finishing 9th. He is ranked 4th on the Hendon Mob India All-time Money list. He has overall WSOP earnings of USD $146,708 from 15 cashes.

8. Vivek Rajkumar
WSOP 2013: $10,000 NLHE Main Event Championship – 197th for $42,990
Vivek is no. 1 on the Hendon Mob’s India all-time Money list with total earnings of USD 4,427,667. He’s had a decent run at WSOP with a 197th place finish in the USD 10,000 NLHE Main Event 2015 for USD 40,433. By his standards, he hasn’t done all that well in the WSOP. Vivek’s total WSOP earnings stand at $377,997 from 14 cashes.

9. Aditya Agarwal
WSOP 2013: $10,000 NLHE Main Event Championship - 212nd place for $42,990
In 2013, Aditya finished 212th in the $10,000 World Championship NLHE Main Event winning USD 42,990.

The entire Indian poker community will be closely following the action and hoping that this years’ contingent brings glory and performs even better from last year!

What do you think?

More Stories

Other Stories