Shaun Deeb Wins WSOP 2018 Player Of The Year Title

Shaun Deeb wins WSOP 2018 POY

The World Series Of Poker (WSOP) Player Of The Year (POY) award is arguably the most coveted award in poker today. This tradition was started way back in 2004 which crowned Daniel Negreanu as it’s inaugural winner. WSOP awards point for cashes in almost all of the 88 bracelet events held in WSOP and WSOP Europe. The events which are excluded are Big One for One Drop, Ladies, Tag Team, Casino Employees, Seniors and Super Seniors.

This year, Shaun Deeb has been adjudged the WSOP POY with 5073.92 points. He has had a brilliant run in 2018 which saw him win the $25,000 PLO High Roller ($814,179) and the $10,000 No Limit Six Max Championship ($1,402,683), make four final tables and cash 20 times. His total $2.5 Million in cashes this year is a new record for the highest-ever cashes for the POY. He also brings his total bracelet tally to 4!

Chris Ferguson is the defending POY champion from 2017 and even after cashing in 23 events (a record for most single-year cashes); he couldn't make it to the top 10 in the running for the title. He would break his own record if he cashes in the WSOPE Main Event; which is no easy feat.

However, truth be told, this years’ WSOP POY race was anticlimactic at best. Though Shaun competed in the WSOPE Main Event at King’s Casino in Rozvadov and didn’t cash; he was already the WSOP POY winner by a good margin. Even if he had stayed home and not competed in the WSOPE, his 4334.06 points were good enough to clinch the POY title this summer. He still cashed 4 more times in the Czech Republic to finally finish at 5073.92 points.

Runner-up, Ben Yu (3746.04 points, 3 WSOP bracelets), Joe Cada (3531.86 points, WSOP 2009 Main Event Winner) and John Hennigan (3499.91 points, 6 WSOP bracelets and Poker Hall Of Fame Inductee 2018) were in the hunt and offered some resistance to Deeb, however, they just couldn't compete with the Champion's commanding lead.

World Series Of Poker Player Of The Year Archive

Back in 2004, the WSOP started this tradition of awarding the POY title to the player who accumulates the highest number of points throughout the year-long series. The inaugural winner of POY was Daniel Negreanu; who would go on to win this coveted again in 2013.

WSOP Player of the Year History

2004Daniel NegreanuCanada
2005Allen CunninghamUSA
2006Jeff MadsenUSA
2007Tom SchneiderUSA
2008Erick LindgrenUSA
2009Jeff LisandroAustralia
2010Frank KasselaUSA
2011Ben LambUSA
2012Greg MersonUSA
2013Daniel NegreanuCanada
2014George DanzerGermany
2015Mike GorodinskyUSA
2016Jason MercierUSA
2017Chris FergusonUSA
2018Shaun DeebUSA

What do you think?

More Stories

Other Stories